Looking for information about Utah pharmacy technician requirements? Following are the important facts you need to know about what you need to obtain a Utah pharmacy tech license.
Does Utah regulate pharmacy technicians? Yes.
Is certification required to practice in Utah? Yes.
What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state? PTCB or ExCPT.
When is licensure with the state of Utah required? Before practicing as a pharmacy technician.
Is licensure required? Yes.
Utah Board of Pharmacy
Utah State Board of Pharmacy
160 East 300 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone: (801) 530-6628
Professional Association for Utah pharmacy technicians:
Utah Pharmacists Association
The Utah Society of Health System Pharmacists
Is training required? Yes. The training can either be
on-the-job training or through a formal training program. For on-the-job
training, a notification form must be submitted for approval PRIOR to
beginning the training. This form can be downloaded here.
For a formal training program, the program must have been approved by
the Utah Board of Pharmacy. The only exception is to have worked 1,000
hours in the past year as a licensed pharmacy technician in another
state that requires licensure for pharmacy technicians.
What do I have to do to become licensed?
Yes--20 contact hours per renewal period. Of these 20 hours, at least 1
hour must be in laws and ethics and a minimum of 8 hours must be live.
Note that current certification with ExCPT or PTCB also satisfies the CE
How often is renewal required? All licenses expire September 30 of every odd-numbered year. It is NOT based on the licensee’s date of initial licensure. Each renewal cycle thereafter is for a full 2 years. Renewals can be done online here or you can download the application form here.
What should I do if I change jobs or change my home address? A change of address form may be obtained from the division’s website here.
Do you have any tips about becoming a pharmacy technician in Utah? Share them, so others can learn from your experience.
Click below to see contributions from other visitors to this page...
Required Internship Hours (UTAH) Not rated yet
How many pharmacy internship hours are required to become a licensed pharmacy technician in the state of Utah?
Length of time to get license Not rated yet
In Utah, how long does it take to get my license once I have applied? Response from PharmTechPros.com: There is no turnaround time specified on the …