Looking for Maine pharmacy tech information? Following are the important facts you need to know about the requirements for pharmacy technicians in Maine.
Does Maine regulate pharmacy technicians? Yes.
Is certification required to practice in Maine? No. However, Maine has two designations for pharmacy technicians: pharmacy technician and pharmacy technician advanced. To be licensed as a pharmacy technician advanced, you must have certification.
What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state? PTCB (PTCE).
When is registration required? You must be registered before beginning work or training in a pharmacy.
Is licensure required? Yes.
What do I have to do to become licensed?
Yes. You must complete the training required by the pharmacist-in-charge in your place of employment. Your subsequent duties must be consistent with the training you have received.
Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements? No, if you are
licensed in Maine as a pharmacy technician. If you are licensed as a
pharmacy technician advanced, you must complete the CE requirements
necessary to maintain your national certification.
How often is renewal required? Annually. The renewal fee is $25. All pharmacy technician licenses expire on December 31.
What should I do if I change jobs or change my home address? Notify the Board within 30 days by mail, fax, or e-mail.
Other good info to know about Maine pharmacy tech requirements:
Maine Board of Pharmacy
Office: Department of Professional and Financial Regulation
35 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
Telephone: 207-624-8603 Fax: 207-624-8637
Professional Association for Maine Pharmacy Techs:
The Maine Society of Health-System Pharmacists
Do you have any tips about becoming a pharmacy technician in Maine? Share them, so others can benefit from your experience.