Nebraska Pharmacy Tech Info

Looking for Nebraska pharmacy tech information? Following are the important facts you need to know about the requirements for pharmacy technicians in Nebraska.

Updated in 2022!

Does Nebraska regulate pharmacy technicians?

Yes, the state of Nebraska regulates pharmacy techs.

Is certification required to practice in Nebraska?

No, there’s not certification required to practice as a pharmacy technician in Nebraska.

What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state?

PTCB (PTCE) and ICPT (ExCPT).

When is registration required?

You must apply for registration within 30 days of beginning employment.

Is licensure required?

Yes, you do need a valid Nebraska pharmacy technician license.

What do I have to do to become licensed?

  • Be 18 years old or older.
  • Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Have no felony or misdemeanor convictions on non-alcohol, drug-related charges.
  • Submit a written pharmacy technician application to the Nebraska State Board of Pharmacy requesting registration as a pharmacy technician (download application here).
  • Include the nonrefundable application fee of $25. (There is a license fee waiver available if you meet certain criteria.)
  • Submit proof of citizenship, lawful permanent residence, and/or immigration status information.

Is training required?

Yes, the supervising pharmacist oversees on-the-job training and keeps the appropriate records of the training.

Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements?

No.

How often is renewal required?

Biannually. Pharmacy Technician registrations expire January 1 of each odd-numbered year. The renewal fee is $25 – cheapest in the nation? Renewal forms will be sent out by the Board of Pharmacy.

What should I do if I change jobs or change my home address?

Report the change to the Board immediately by contacting the office at 402-471-2118 or sending an e-mail to [email protected]

Other Important Info for Nebraska Pharmacy Techs

  • A technician must carry his or her pharmacy technician identification wallet card at all times while working and display his or her license in the pharmacy.
  • A technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
  • The supervising pharmacist (or pharmacist-in-charge) is responsible for all actions of the pharmacy technician.
  • The supervising pharmacist may supervise a limit of two pharmacy technicians in the pharmacy.
  • The Board of Pharmacy website contains important updates to statutes and regulations. Stay up to date on the latest information.

Essential Contact Info for Nebraska Pharmacy Technicians

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Board of Pharmacy

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Pharmacy-Technician.aspx
Office: Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit
State Office Building
301 Centennial Mall South, 3rd Floor
Mail: PO Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
Telephone: 402-471-2118
Fax: 402-471-3577

Professional Association for Nebraska pharmacy techs

Nebraska Pharmacists Association (NPA)
www.npharm.org  
State Flag of Nebraska
Be a proud Nebraska pharmacy technician!

1 thought on “Nebraska Pharmacy Tech Info”

Leave a Comment