Looking for Alaska pharmacy technician license information? Following are the important facts you need to know about the requirements for pharmacy technicians in Alaska.
Updated in 2022!
Does Alaska regulate pharmacy technicians?
Is certification required to practice in Alaska?
Yes, in order to renew your license (licenses must be renewed by June 30 of even-numbered years).
What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state?
The PTCE exam.
When is registration required?
All certificates begin on July 1 of even-numbered years.
Is licensure required?
Yes. You must obtain your registration certificate BEFORE working in a pharmacy.
What do I have to do to become licensed?
- Be 18 years of age or older.
- Be fluent in the reading, writing, and speaking of the English language.
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- Not have a felony conviction that may affect your ability to perform tech duties.
- Submit a written pharmacy technician application to the Alaska State Board of Pharmacy requesting registration as a pharmacy technician (download application here).
- Have the form with your signature notarized.
- Include the non-refundable application fee of $100 plus the $50 pharm tech license fee for a total of $150.
Is training required?
Yes. You must complete the training required by the pharmacist-in-charge. Your subsequent duties must be consistent with the training you have received.
Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements?
Yes. For each renewal period you must obtain 10 contact hours of continuing education OR have obtained initial certification as a pharmacy technician by the PTCB.
How often is renewal required?
Pharmacy technician licenses expire on June 30 of even-numbered years and may be renewed for a fee of $100. Note that a license that has been expired for more than 2 years will not be reinstated.
What should I do if I change jobs or change my home address?
The division’s website has a list of forms here.
Other good info to know about Alaska pharmacy tech requirements
- A technician must wear a name tag identifying him-or herself as a pharmacy technician at all times while working.
- If a pharmacy technician will assist in the preparation of sterile pharmaceuticals, including parenteral medications, the pharmacy technician must have completed a minimum of 40 hours of on-the-job training in the preparation, sterilization, aseptic technique, and admixture of parenteral and other sterile pharmaceuticals before the pharmacy technician may regularly perform those tasks.
Essential Contact Info for Alaska Pharmacy Techs
Alaska Board of Pharmacy
Donna Bellino, Licensing Examiner
Telephone: (907) 465-2589
Fax: (907) 465-2974
E-mail: [email protected]
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Professional Association for Alaska pharmacy techs
The Alaska Pharmacists Association
1 thought on “Alaska Pharmacy Technician License”