Nevada Pharmacy Tech Info
Looking for Nevada pharmacy tech information? Following are the
important facts you need to know about the requirements for pharmacy
technicians in Nevada.
Does Nevada regulate pharmacy technicians? Yes.
Is certification required to practice in Nevada? No.
What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state? PTCB (PTCE).
When is registration required?
You must apply for and receive registration before beginning employment.
Is licensure required? Yes.
What do I have to do to become licensed?
Is training required?
- Be 18 years old or older.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Have no felony or misdemeanor convictions on drug-related charges and no history of drug abuse.
There are three pathways to Nevada licensure: Be licensed as a pharmacy
technician in another state that provides licenses to pharmacy
technicians; complete 1,500 hours of training in Nevada as a registered
pharmacy technician-in-training; or have graduated from a school
accredited by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP).
If you have a degree from a school not accredited by the ASHP, you must
take and pass the exam (PTCE) given by the Pharmacy Technician
- Submit a "pharmaceutical technician " application to the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy requesting
registration as a pharmacy technician (the online application is here).
- At that same link,
if you are planning to obtain licensure by completing the 1,500 hours
of training, you can complete the online pharmacy technician trainee application to
the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy requesting registration as a
pharmacy technician trainee (application here).
the nonrefundable fee of $40 for either the technician or
technician-trainee application (cashier’s checks or money orders only,
no personal checks).
supervising pharmacist oversees on-the-job training and keeps the
appropriate records of the training. In addition, technicians must have
12 hours of in-service training between the biennial license renewal
Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements? Yes. One hour of law CE (1 CEU) is required prior to license renewal.
How often is renewal required?
Biennially, by October 31 on even-numbered years. Contact the pharmacy
board via e-mail to obtain an application at
firstname.lastname@example.org or call (775) 850-1440 or (800) 364-2081.
What should I do if I change jobs or change my home address?
Report the change to the Board immediately by contacting the office at
402-471-2118 or sending an e-mail to dhhs.medicaloffice@Nevada.gov.
Other good info to know about Nevada pharmacy tech requirements:
- A technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
- The supervising pharmacist (or pharmacist-in-charge) is responsible for all actions of the pharmacy technician.
- The supervising pharmacist may supervise a limit of three pharmacy technicians in the pharmacy.
Essential Contact Info for the Nevada Pharmacy Tech
Nevada State Board of Pharmacy
Office: 431 West Plumb Lane
Reno, NV 89509
Telephone: 775-850-1440 Fax: 775-850-1444
Professional Association for Nevada pharmacy techs:
Nevada Society of Health Systems Pharmacists (NVSHP)
Be a proud Nevada Pharmacy Technician!
Share Tips About Becoming a Pharm Tech in Nevada
Do you have any tips about becoming a pharmacy technician in Nevada? Share them, so others can learn from your experience.
Return from Nevada Pharmacy Tech to the
Pharmacy Tech Pros Home Page