Arizona Pharmacy Technician Licenses Info

Looking for Arizona pharmacy technician licenses information? Following are the important facts you need to know about the requirements for getting licensed as a pharmacy technician in Arizona.

Does Arizona regulate pharmacy technicians? Yes

Is certification required to practice in Arizona? Yes, however, you do not need certification to become a pharmacy technician trainee. The difference between a pharmacy technician trainee and a pharmacy technician is certification from the PTCB.

What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state? PTCB (PTCE) and ExCPT

When is registration required? Registration is available throughout the year and the fee is prorated.

Is licensure required? Yes. You must obtain your registration certificate BEFORE working in a pharmacy. This Arizona pharmacy technician licenses requirement is unique to this state.

What do I have to do to become licensed?

  • Be a U.S. citizen or a legal resident. You must provide proof of legal residency and birth date.
  • Have a high school diploma or the equivalent.
  • Provide a government-issued photo ID.
  • Provide proof of passing the PTCB or ExCPT exam.
  • Provide a copy of a valid Arizona fingerprint clearance card.
  • Submit a pharmacy technician application to the Arizona State Board of Pharmacy. Links for both pharmacy technician and pharmacy technician trainee are available here.
  • The pharmacy technician trainee license is if you have not yet passed the PTCB or ExCPT exam and you've never held a technician trainee or technician license with the Connecticut Board of Pharmacy. If you've held a trainee license before, you may be eligible for a reapplication.
  • Report any felony or misdemeanor charges or disciplinary orders on the application.
  • Include the registration fee of $82 (the fee is $60 for a pharmacist technician trainee application).
Is training required?

Yes. Pharmacist-in-charge is responsible for administering a training program and is responsible for maintaining records.

Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements? Yes. Twenty hours of CE, two of which must be in pharmacy law. More information regarding continuing education requirements are provided on their website. Note that they distinguish between Arizona-required CE and PTCB-required CE.

How often is renewal required? Biennially.

Essential Contact Info for Arizona Pharmacy Technician Licenses

Arizona State Board of Pharmacy
www.azpharmacy.gov
Office: 1700 W. Washington Street, Suite 250
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Voice: 602-771-2727
Fax: 602-771-2749

Professional Association for Arizona Pharmacy Technicians:
Arizona Pharmacy Alliance
www.azpharmacy.org

Arizona state flagBe a proud Arizona pharmacy technician!

Return from Arizona Pharmacy Technician Licenses to the Home Page.

Have any Tips About Becoming a Pharm Tech in Arizona?

Do you have any tips about becoming a pharmacy technician in Arizona? Share them, so others can benefit from your experience.

What Other Visitors Have Said

Click below to see contributions from other visitors to this page...

how much is recertification of pharmacy technician license in arizona? Not rated yet
how much is recertification for pharmacy technician in Arizona? Response from PharmTechPros.com: It depends on the current date of your license. …

Click here to write your own.