Looking for information about getting a pharmacy technician license in Tennessee? Following are the important facts you need to know about the requirements for pharmacy techs in Tennessee.
Updated in 2022!
Does Tennessee regulate pharmacy technicians?
Is certification required to practice in Tennessee?
No, but see the advanced duties and other information specific to certified pharmacy technicians provided under “Other good info…” below.
What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state?
None are specifically required by the state of Tennessee.
When is registration required?
Before practicing as a pharmacy technician.
Is registration required?
Yes. You must obtain your registration certificate BEFORE working in a pharmacy.
What do I have to do to become registered?
- Submit a statement of good moral character.
- Submit an affidavit from your employer attesting that you have read and understand the statutes and regulations pertaining to the practice of pharmacy in the state of Tennessee.
- Be a citizen of the United States.
- Not have a felony conviction.
- Submit a written pharmacy technician application to the Tennessee State Board of Pharmacy requesting registration as a pharmacy technician (start their online application process here).
- Have the form with your signature notarized.
- Include the non-refundable application fee of $50.
Is training required?
Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements?
How often is renewal required?
Pharmacy technician registrations are good for 2 years. Renewals can be done online at the link provided above (the same link as to initially register).
What should I do if I change jobs or change my home address?
The Board of Pharmacy’s online license management system allows you to enter a change of address.
Other good info to know about being a pharmacy technician in Tennessee
- A technician must wear a name tag identifying him- or herself as a pharmacy technician at all times while working.
- Certified pharmacy technicians may receive new or transferred oral medical and prescription orders.
- The ratio of pharmacy technicians to pharmacists is no more than 2:1 in any pharmacy practice site. However, if at least one of the pharmacy technicians is certified, that ratio can be increased to a maximum of 3:1.
- Certified pharmacy technicians must display evidence of certification at the pharmacy practice site and must possess proof of certification (as well as registration) at all times while on duty.
Essential Contact Info to Become a Pharmacy Technician in Tennessee
Tennessee Board of Pharmacy
Tennessee Department of Health
Health Related Boards
Tennessee Board of Pharmacy
227 French Landing, Suite 300
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: (615) 253-1299
Fax: (615) 741-2722
Professional Association for Tennessee pharmacy techs
The Tennessee Pharmacists Association https://www.tnpharm.org