Looking for information about Colorado pharmacy technician license requirements? Following are the important facts you need to know about the requirements for pharmacy technicians in Colorado.
Updated in 2022!
Does Colorado regulate pharmacy technicians?
Is certification required to practice in Colorado?
Yes, from a nationally recognized certification Board.
What certification exam(s) is/are recognized by the state?
PTCB (PTCE) and/or ICPT (ExCPT).
Is licensure required?
Is training required?
Yes, 500 hours of experiential training at the pharmacy of employment.
What do I need to become a pharmacy tech in Colorado?
- A high school diploma or equivalent.
- Complete an application to receive a license from the Board of Pharmacy here. The fee is $57.
- Although most pharmacy technicians in Colorado receive informal on-the-job training, employers (especially the chain stores) favor those who have completed formal training and certification from one of the national organizations (PTCB or ICPT).
Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements?
Only as required for the national certification by the certification organization (such as PTCB).
Other good info to know about Colorado pharmacy technician requirements
- A technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
- Be recognized by a national certification board.
- Possess a degree from an accredited pharmacy technician training program.
- Have completed 500 hours of experiential training.
Colorado Pharmacy Technician Requirements Have Changed
A new state law requires that pharmacy technicians must obtain a certification from the State Board of Pharmacy (Board) by March 30, 2020. This means that you cannot practice on or after March 30, 2020, without a certification or a provisional certification from the Board. The Governor (Jared Polis) signed the bill HB19-1242 – Regulate Pharmacy Technicians on June 3, 2019.
The application is available on the pharmacy technicians webpage. The fee for a pharmacy technician certification or provisional certification is $57.
The Board held a Rulemaking Hearing on October 3, 2019, and the new rules affecting pharmacy technicians went into effect on November 30, 2019. Certification requirements are located in Rule 29, which is found on page 199 of the new Rules. Pharmacy technicians should apply for certification (provisional or non-provisional certificate) as soon as possible to ensure they can continue practicing on or after March 30, 2020. We encourage all pharmacy technicians to review the new Rules as well as the FAQ on the Board’s website.
History of the Changes to Colorado’s Pharmacy Technician Requirements
In 2008, the Board of Pharmacy organized a Pharmacy Technician Taskforce. This group has met several times since 2008. The group consists of technicians and pharmacists, explores issues regarding the possible regulation of pharmacy technicians. The group then reports its findings back to the Board. Regulation could range from licensing, to registering to required certification of pharmacy technicians.
The group reviewed requirements from other states as guidance. They recognized that the regulation of pharmacy technicians in other states is rapidly changing and that the pharmacy field has also changed greatly in recent years. This group recognized that pharmacists need to delegate more tasks to the pharmacy technicians. Among their discussions was an analysis of board-approved pharmacy technician education programs.
Essential Contact Info for Colorado Pharmacy Techs
Colorado State Board of Pharmacy
Office: 1560 Broadway, Suite 1310
Denver, CO 80202-5143
Voice: 303-894-7800 Fax: 303-894-7764
Professional Association for Colarado pharmacy technicians
Colorado Pharmacists’ Society
Further reading: How to become a pharmacy technician in Aurora, Colorado.
3 thoughts on “Colorado Pharmacy Technician License Info”