Looking for New Hampshire pharmacy tech license information? Following are the important facts you need to know about the requirements for pharmacy technicians in New Hampshire.
Updated in 2022!
Does New Hampshire regulate pharmacy technicians?
Is certification required to practice in New Hampshire?
What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state?
PTCB (PTCE) and ICPT (ExCPT).
When is registration required?
You must apply for and receive registration before beginning employment.
Is licensure required?
What do I have to do to become licensed?
- Be 18 years old or older.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent or be working toward one.
- Have no felony or misdemeanor convictions on drug-related charges.
- Submit an online pharmacy technician application to the New Hampshire State Board of Pharmacy (start the application process here). Depending on whether you are certified, you will choose to received a “registered pharmacy technician” license or a “certified pharmacy technician” license. If you are certified, you must provide a copy of the actual certificate when applying (must be 4 MB or less).
- Pay the application fee by Visa or Mastercard ONLY.
- You cannot use an iPad or iPhone to complete the application.
- You must read and practice within the guidelines of RSA318 and Ph800 of the Board’s laws and rules. These are provided for viewing during your application process.
- Be sure to print the “Application Summary” page to prove that you have submitted an application.
- Complete a training program designed and overseen by the pharmacist-in-charge at the pharmacy in which you are employed.
Is training required?
Yes, the supervising pharmacist oversees on-the-job training and keeps the appropriate records of the training.
Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements?
How often is renewal required?
Every 2 years, on March 31st of every odd-numbered year. License renewals are done online at this link.
What should I do if I change jobs or change my home address?
Report the change to the Board immediately. Download instructions on how to update your address here.
Other good info to know about New Hampshire pharmacy tech requirements
- A technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
- The supervising pharmacist (or pharmacist-in-charge) is responsible for all actions of the pharmacy technician.
Essential Contact Info for the New Hampshire Pharmacy Tech
State of New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/board-pharmacy Office: 57 Regional Drive Concord, NH 03301 Telephone: 603-271-2350 Fax: 603-271-2856
Professional Association for New Hampshire Pharm Techs
New Hampshire Pharmacists Association www.nhpharmacists.net
1 thought on “New Hampshire Pharmacy Tech License Info”