Looking for Oregon pharmacy technician license regulations? Following are the important facts you need to know about the requirements for pharmacy technicians in Oregon.
Updated in 2022!
Does Oregon regulate pharmacy technicians?
Is certification required to practice in Oregon?
Yes. You may be eligible, however, to apply for a 1-year registration that allows you to work in a pharmacy while completing the training and passing the exam needed to become nationally certified.
What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state?
Either PTCB (PTCE) and ICPT (ExCPT), both are accepted.
When is registration required?
You must apply for registration before beginning employment.
Is licensure required?
What do I have to do to become licensed as an Oregon pharmacy technician?
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Be nationally certified (or working toward certification).
- Submit a written certified pharmacy technician application to the Oregon State Board of Pharmacy requesting registration as a certified pharmacy technician (download application here).
- If you are applying for a 1-year, nonrenewable pharmacy technician license (while you work toward national certification), you must submit a different application form (download application here).
- Include the nonrefundable application fee of $50 plus the background check fee of $46.25.
- Include a passport-type photo.
- Submit proof of identification (copy of your driver’s license or Oregon ID).
- Submit to a background check, including fingerprinting.
In February of 2022, the Oregon Board of Pharmacy adopted temporary rules regarding Pharmacy Technician licensure (Read more here). These changes were made to remove barriers to licensure and provide an option for a Pharmacy Technician to renew the license in even years (2022, 2024, etc.).
This means, the license you are currently applying for will expire on 6/30/2022. This will require license renewal and the full renewal fee of $104.00 for the period of 7/1/2022 – 6/30/2024. Because renewal will be required in 2022, the license fee is currently reduced to $50.00. This does not include the additional national background check fee of $46.25.
Is training required?
Yes, the supervising pharmacist oversees the initial on-the-job training and keeps the appropriate records of the training.
Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements?
Yes. In addition to completing the CE requirements to maintain your national certification, Oregon requires the completion of two hours of Oregon pharmacy law each year (except for the first year of licensure).
How often is renewal required?
Biannually. Pharmacy Technician registrations expire June 30 even years (2022, 2024, etc). The renewal fee is $100. Renewal reminders will be sent out by the Board of Pharmacy. You must renew online here.
What should I do if I change jobs or change my home address?
Report the change to the Board in writing within 15 days. Also, be sure to include the correct information on your next online renewal.
Other good info to know about Oregon’s pharmacy technician requirements
- A technician must must be clearly identified to the public as a pharmacy technician and display his or her license in the pharmacy.
- A technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
- The supervising pharmacist (or pharmacist in charge) is responsible for all actions of the pharmacy technician.
- The supervising pharmacist may supervise a limit of two pharmacy technicians in the pharmacy.
Essential Contact Info for Oregon Pharmacy Technicians
Oregon State Board of Pharmacy
Office: Portland State Office Building
800 NE Oregon St., Suite 150
Portland, OR 97232-2162
Professional Association for Oregon Pharmacy Technicians:
Oregon State Pharmacy Association (OSPA)