Looking for Rhode Island pharmacy technician license information? Following are the important facts you need to know about the requirements for pharmacy technicians in Rhode Island.
Updated in 2022!
Does Rhode Island regulate pharmacy technicians?
Yes, they do.
Is certification required to practice in Rhode Island?
No. However, Rhode Island issues different licenses indicating two levels of pharmacy technicians—those who do not have national certification (Tech I) and those who do (Tech II).
What certification exam(s) is/are approved by the state?
PTCB (PTCE) and ICPT (ExCPT).
When is registration required?
You must apply for and receive proof of registration before beginning employment.
Is licensure required?
Yes. You need to hold a valid RI pharmacy technician license in order to practice.
What do I have to do to become licensed
- Be 18 years of age or older.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent or be currently enrolled in a program that awards the degree.
- If you are not certified, you must be enrolled in a Board-approved pharmacy technician training program (this can be an employer-based program).
- Submit a written pharmacy technician application to the Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy requesting registration as a pharmacy technician (Tech I or Tech II) (download application here).
- Include the non-refundable application fee of $40.
- Have no felony convictions involving substance abuse.
- Have the application form notarized.
Is training required?
Yes, both levels of licensure require passing a Board-approved training program.
Are there Continuing Education (CE) requirements?
No. If you are nationally certified, however, maintaining your certification requires CE (20 units of continuing education every 2 years).
How often is renewal required?
Annually. Pharmacy Technician registrations expire June 30 of each year. The renewal fee is $40. Renewal forms will be sent out by the Board of Pharmacy.
What should I do if I change jobs or change my home address?
Report the change to the Board in writing.
Other good info to know about Rhode Island pharmacy technician requirements
- Technicians must must be clearly identified to the public as pharmacy technicians by wearing name tags showing their names and licensure designations and displaying their licenses in the pharmacies in which they work.
- A technician may only perform pharmacy functions that do not require professional judgment.
- The supervising pharmacist (or pharmacist in charge) is responsible for all actions of the pharmacy technician.
Essential Contact Info for Rhode Island Pharmacy Technicians
Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy
Office: 3 Capitol Hill, Room 205
Providence, RI 02908-5097
Professional Association for Rhode Island Pharmacy Technicians
Rhode Island Pharmacists Association
1 thought on “Rhode Island Pharmacy Technician License”